Urban Ignition – 2017 Scholarship Awards

All scholarship recipients receive a tuition scholarship to their studio to be dispersed by the studio owner, and a certificate of recognition.

Congratulations to the students and studios listed.

Scholarship Recipients

Lily Elsmore – Ponsonby School of Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level One                                
Isla Kerr-Bell – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Two                                
Sonia Reddy – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Three                                
Sophie McIndoe – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Four                               
Grace Ruri – RASA School of Dance (Dunedin, NZ)

Level Five                                
Aidan Gleeson – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Connor Smith – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Six                                
Isabella Jones – DanceWorks Studio (Palmerston North, NZ)

Level Seven                                
Waimarama Potae-Tamatea – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Level Eight                               
Hahna Nichols – RASA School of Dance (Dunedin, NZ)

Level Nine                             

Isobel Toman – The Dance Shed (Auckland, NZ)

Amaaya John – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Ten                              
Chance McKay – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Solo Seal                           

Talia Horo – Jazz Time (Invercargill, NZ)

Top Tier Awards

Top Tier Awards recognise the top five students after the award winner (this number can be more than five if there are several students with the same mark).  

Marks must be in the 90s to qualify.  All recipients receive a certicate of achievement and badge of recognition.


Esme Wheeler – The Dance Shed (Auckland, NZ)

Dior Crighton – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level One

Abigail Beighton – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Amelia Baker – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Lily Panousis – Dance Pointe (Brisbane, AUS)

Tiago Salgado – Academy of Jazz (HK)

Isabella Rodgers – TM Dance World (Christchurch, NZ)

Level Two

Mary Meredith – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Chanel Foti – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Scarlett Polini – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Lily Van Pelt – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Payton Weston – DanceWorks Studios (Palmerston North, NZ)

Level Three

Indigo Crawford – The Dance Space (Albany, NZ)

Zoe Fisher – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Mila Culpitt – Dance Wanaka (Wanaka, NZ)

Caitlyn Gould – All That Dance (Brisbane, AUS)

Lana O’Gorman – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Level Four

Mia Reddy – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Tyler Rowell – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Emison Styris – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Monet Morrison – RASA School of Dance (Dunedin, NZ)

Samantha Barclay – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Ella Lagan – TM Dance World (Christchurch, NZ)

Rhiana Clarke – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Level Five

Bonnie Duff Edwards – DanceWorks Studios (Palmerston North, NZ)

Catherine Denny – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Martha McAuley – RASA School of Dance (Dunedin, NZ)

Joshua Douglas – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Oscar Sunkel – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Level Six

Heidi Stewart – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Bailey Aarsen – Aspire Arts Academy (Matamata, NZ)

Maia Perry – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Marie Jones – DanceWorks Studios (Palmerston North, NZ)

Kiana Rameka – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Ciara Tierney – Jazz Unlimited Dance Studio (Hamilton, NZ)

Level Seven 

Manaaki Waretini Beaumont – Xpression Dance Studio (Christchurch, NZ)

Lucy Gabbay – Silhouette Dance Studio (Perth, AUS)

Maia Larsen – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Keely Erskine – Queenstown School of Dance (Queenstown, NZ)

Emily Marama Te Ahuru – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Melissa Pamela Candy – Xpression Dance Studio (Christchurch, NZ)

Level Eight 

Aimee Carstens – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Lexi Butler – Rebecca Gray Dance (Auckland, NZ)

Shawna Stoner – Aspire Arts Academy (Matamata, NZ)

Ona Fraser – RASA School of Dance (Dunedin, NZ)

Kayla Boniface – Jazz Time (Invercargill, NZ)

Level Nine

Georgia Primrose -Hore – Victoria Phillips Academy (Auckland, NZ)

Ava McKenzie – Victoria Phillips Academy (Auckland, NZ)

Grace Berge – DanceWorks Studios (Palmerston North, NZ)

Tienete O’Connor – The Dance Shed (Auckland, NZ)

Lucy Peake – Victoria Phillips Academy (Auckland, NZ)

Renee Atutahi – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Level Ten

Bailey Dewar – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Paige McCollum – Dance Effects (Hamilton, NZ)

Gabrielle Raynel – Aspire Arts Academy (Matamata, NZ)

Alice Croucher – AMJAZZ (Rotorua, NZ)

Grace Kingston – Aspire Arts Academy (Matamata, NZ)

Solo Seal

Ryan Bradley – Victoria Phillips Academy (Auckland, NZ)